Hello, May!

I just love this time of year….getting orders organized for the hogs we have been raising all winter, refilling Natural Harvest’s freezer, scheduling the pick up of new pigs, laying out the spreadsheet for our pork subscriptions through Janna’s CSA…..and starting to talk to people who want beef and pork for fall!

The grass is growing…the cattle are finding something to eat on the pasture…they aren’t eating much hay anymore. The creek pasture is drying up and the grass is growing undisturbed…soon the cattle will move off the hayfield and onto the creek pasture. They have been naturally fertilizing the hayfield all winter, so we will let that grow this summer and then take the hay off for winter feed.

What will I put in my summer sampler boxes? How many pounds of each sausage should I make?

I need check out all my Farmer’s Market gear I packed away last fall and get ready. Tower Market opens June 18th!

So many decisions…and so much fun to come.

Hello, spring!

SPRING PASTURE….LOOK, IT’S TURNING GREEN!

Leave a comment